e.l.f Cosmetics…more than a cute name?

I am not a make-up queen but I usually don’t leave the house without slapping on the basics –  concealer, powder, mascara & a bit o’ lipgloss. When it comes to cosmetics I firmly believe that less is more & reasonably priced (erm…cheap) doesn’t have to mean crappy quality. After reading about the bargain yet brilliant e.l.f cosmetics on the groovilicious Hot Ink I knew I had to try them out for myself. Luckily the company has made it over to Europe & even has an online shop for Germany. I ordered on a Friday & had my fancy new facepaint on Monday! *deliveries are fantastically fast in Germany

My purchases arrived safely packaged and included a sweet treat – which my husband promptly commandeered as his own.

The cost of the 11 products I ordered, including delivery, was €23.41 – pretty awesome but were they worth even that? Let’s find out…

Complexion Perfection (€4.49) & Total Face Brush (€1.79): Ok, these 2 products ROCK! Seriously. The Complexion Perfection powder actually does what it promises: brightens & evens out skin tone & also neutralizes any redness. The Total Face Brush is silky soft & provides a smooth, all over application of face powder(s). Both of these products are now a permanent part of my basic make-up routine.

I bought the All Over Colour Stick (€1.79) in Persimmon. In all honesty I wasn’t expecting much from this product & figured I’d end up giving it to my cousin’s teenage daughter. Once again I was über surprised that the e.l.f description was actually true: 3 in 1 color for eyes, lips,or face that instantly soothes & conditions the skin for fresh and natural color all day long. I dab a bit under my brows, pop on some mascara & am good to go… gives a lovely natural glow.

I chose the Lipstain (€4.49) in Heartbreaker. I had high hopes for this one, but sadly it didn’t thrill me. The stain is very drying to my lips & when combined with the gloss it becomes quite ‘gummy’. The gloss on its own gives a nice shine without being sticky but it’s definitely not worth the price…sigh…

Next up: Brightening Eye Liner (€1.79) in Coffee. The eyeliner does “glide on smoothly” as promised & each pencil comes with its own sharpener – bonus! The liner also smudges wonderfully & is quite long lasting…another purchase to repeat.

I had to try the Brightening Eye Colour (€1.79) in Butternut as well. Once on, the end result of this eyeshadow is a little too sparkly for my taste but it’s a nice neutral colour palette.

I have tried nearly every black liquid eyeliner in the freaking galaxy & the e.l.f Waterproof Eyeliner Pen (€1.79) is the only one that I’ve been able to easily use to create gorgeously precise winged eyes.

The 4 pack of Powder Puffs (€1.79) is a fab deal and the soft, cottony puffs make powder application flawless and easy. Also great for on-the-go touchups and eliminating shine.

The Nail Polish in Light Red (€1.79) was easy to apply but very thin & after 4 coats was still streaky looking and began to chip off after only a single day of wear. Boo!

The Blemish-fighting Zit Zapper (€1.79) is an absolute no go for my sensitive skin! Mere seconds after applying it to a small blemish, my skin was red, burn-y & puffy…ouch!

All in all I found e.l.f  to have high quality, easy to use products at insanely reasonable prices. An additional plus: other than the Zit Zapper nothing caused my sensitive skin to react badly. A negative:

Too much packaging…the recycle bins were well fed.

2 thoughts on “e.l.f Cosmetics…more than a cute name?

  1. I just wanted to thank you so much for your review!!! I found you via your hat refashion on Refashion Co-op. I had a look at the ELF website and the all over concealer stick would be perfect for me! You’ve opened my eyes to a new brand 😀

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

