the (sneaky) crochet vest

Just like my crochet cheater top this funkified vest required zero crochet knowledge but looks like I could have spent hours with the hook, meticulously looping, turning & chaining (?) the delicate thread….here’s what I really did:

I started with a faded denim vest that had been skulking at the bottom of my stash for way too long…

snagged my trusty bleach…

 tossed the vest in a 50/50 bleach & H2O mixture & let it soak overnight…

et voila! A no-longer-faded-black vest…but still not at all nifty enough to wear…

I sifted through my pile o’ vintage lace & discovered this lurvly little hand-crocheted tablecloth (which I had previously dyed from dingy white to purty turquoise)…

I sliced it in half & pinned a piece to each side of the front of the vest…

chopped off the excess…

and stitched it on…

I stitched a couple of the remaining crocheted rosette-scraps to the collar…

replaced the rivets with some fancy vintage buttons…

and added a lil’ somethin’ t the back!

5 thoughts on “the (sneaky) crochet vest

  1. I guess you never show them your finished projects.. don’t! Let them continue to think you’re ‘blim-blim’ while you make off with their crochet stash! Hehe

    • Creativity? Maybe a little…it’s more down to desperation at not being able to crochet anything myself but wanting to fill the wardrobe with funky hippie-fied crocheted items! …seriously I think I have a crochet-addiction…just today at the charity shop I giddily picked up a divine hand embroidered round vintage tablecloth with an absolutely brilliant crocheted edge, held it up to myself & did a twirly lil’ dance (it’ll make a gorgeous skirt!) – the staff thinks I’m completely round-the-bend & even asked my hubs if I was “o.k im Kopf”…hilarious!

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

