A Pretty in Pink Thrifty Thursday

The year was 1987 and I was a lass of 14 when I first saw the film that would time & again help me through the cruelty of high school. Pretty in Pink (as with all of John Hughes’ fabulous teen angst films of the 1980’s) became my relatable escape from a world that let me know, every single day, not only did I not fit in but I was most certainly not welcome…how I wish I could go back in time & let that 14 year old know that her future holds so many incredible adventures and her quirky uniqueness that is so uncool in the microcosm of high school will soon be leading her all over the world…

Here’s to Pretty in Pink…saviour of my teenage sanity & the inspiration for my (thrifty) style:

Earrings (upcycled & handmade) €0 – Smoking jacket (thrifted) €2 – 1960’s Dress (inherited) €0 – Vintage Belt (inherited) €0 – Bracelet (handmade) €0 – Crocheted handbag (had for years) €0 – Vintage Scarf (thrifted) €0.20 – Tights (1982) €1 – Shoes (thrifted years ago) €0

Total outfit cost: €3.20

Snag some thrifty inspiration (+ join up & share your love of second hand) over on my Gone Thrifting facebook page!

As always feel free to take part in the thrifty fun & vote for the upcoming themes…

Let’s Connect: 

youtubeFacebook Twitter Emailinstagram
tumblrPin google LinkedInbloglovin
18 thoughts on “A Pretty in Pink Thrifty Thursday

  1. lol, I’m grooving to the music as we speak. Love your fun take on pretty in pink. I saw it on thursday but I could not comment on my phone. See you on thursday!!

  2. I love your superimposed pretty in pinkness! Too awesome. That movie became my 6 year old’s favorite last summer, it never gets old

    • Thanks so much my lurvly! It would be so freaking fab if we could get together in person for a groovy thrifting expedition & gab-fest…perhaps when we’re settled in our new home (in either Dublin or London) you & yer dude will fly over for fun-filled getaway! 😉

  3. Oh man, you have absolutely outdone yourself with this post, Sheri! I sooo wanted to do an homage to Pretty in Pink, but I didn’t have the outfit, but I am SO glad you did – this is fabulous!! I love the movie, I love your dress and I love the music video! (One of my all-time favorite scenes in any movie is the scene with Ducky lip-singing Otis Redding’s “Try a Little Tenderness”!!!) 🙂

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

