Totally Smitten With Kittenhood

Every Kittenhood post that arrives in my inbox is an inspirational feast for the eyes. Daria has such a cleverly cool approach to presenting her fabulous DIYs & amazing thrifted outfits it’s easy to completely lose yourself in the world of Kittenhood…

"...this thrifted cardigan I got a few years ago is actually Rodier, a French brand I admire..."

“…this thrifted cardigan I got a few years ago turned out to be Rodier, a French brand I admire…”

Discover the origins of this addicting site + learn Daria’s best thrifting advice:

DIY embroidered cat jersey "you don’t need much and it will be done in half an hour – just stitch patiently"

DIY embroidered cat jersey: “you don’t need much and it will be done in half an hour – just stitch patiently”

Back in 2010, I was making handmade accessories from polymer clay and textiles, under the name Kittenhood. I created the blog to promote those accessories. In the beginning, I was posting very randomly, in Romanian, and didn’t put too much time into the blog.

"This dress is a thrift store find from spring – the color and the collar (and the small price!) made it a sure buy."

“This dress is a thrift store find from spring – the color and the collar (and the small price!) made it a sure buy.”

Then, in 2011, I participated in a month-long challenge that changed everything. It was called “Thing A Day”, and the goal was to make something daily and post it. I chose to make an accessory every day, and incorporate it into an outfit post. Those were my first style posts, and the readers loved them, so I made them a regular feature of my blog.

DIY French hen sweater: "I don’t have knitting skills so I simply used felt."

DIY French hen sweater: “I don’t have knitting skills so I simply used felt.”

For the past 3 years, I’ve been posting almost every day, although I’ve branched into DIY, fashion and design, and I no longer have that line of accessories.

"I hadn’t entered a second-hand shop in months, until last week. And boy, was it a good week! "

“I hadn’t entered a second-hand shop in months, until last week. And boy, was it a good week! “

Daria’s Top Thrifting Tips:

1. Look Everywhere: I know people say you should go thrifting with something particular in mind, but that never works for me. If I go looking for shoes, I’ll find a skirt, or worse, go home empty-handed! So my advice is to look everywhere, even in the sections that don’t normally interest you. I found a gorgeous fly print curtain for example, which I plan on turning into a dress.

2. Don’t regret it – Buy it! I often regret finding designer pieces and not buying them because they were not perfect for me. Buy them! Someone you know could want them, you could sell them or, even better, refashion them for yourself. Since they’re probably great quality, you’re gonna enjoy working with the fabric. This goes for vintage in general.

3. Step out of your comfort zone: I often go to the same thrift shops in my neighborhood over and over, because they’re there. Since not all of them are stocked regularly, it can get pretty boring. Step out of your comfort zone and stretch your thrifting web all over the city! Even better if you can get to small towns, because that’s where the extremely cheap treasures are.

4. Don’t just look at a piece as it is, look at what it could become! For example, I turned an ugly denim maxi into a trendy pinafore, and it was one of my most exciting projects ever! I always look for oversized men’s shirts in nice patterns because they’re so good for turning into shirt dresses, and everything plain I imagine embellished!

seeing the potential & creating cute shirt-dresses

Mulţumesc mult Daria! 

the amazing pinafore project!

the amazing pinafore project!

Now pop on over to Kittenhood and get your daily dose of cool!

Let’s Connect: 

facebook  >  twitter  >  tumblr  >  bloglovin’

One thought on “Totally Smitten With Kittenhood

  1. Oh my gawd I’m obsessed.

    I don’t sew but that kitten jersey doesn’t look too difficult! I’ve been wanting to learn how to do a simple embroidery so I can customize my clothes! This is awesome. I’m going to the fabric store after work to get supplies!

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

