the small to smaller dress refashion

Thrifting online is awesome and I love thrill of opening a fabulous frugal delivery…the only drawback is when what awaits you in your package isn’t quite as advertised (but even then it’s still pretty awesome!):

This cozy flannel dress was described as a size small – I can comfortably wear an average “medium” and was swimming in this + the neckline was so wide that it slid off of my shoulders when I wasn’t shrugging – but for only €1.00 I wasn’t about to complain or send it back so I busted out some basic refashioning skills, got to work and in less than an hour had this beauty:

the perfect €1 plaid dress to go with my fantastic €1 thrifted jacket!

Here’s what I did:

I chopped off those awful puffed sleeves

oh-so-easily shrank that huge neckline by simply stitching straight across each shoulder seam & then took in the sides by sewing down from the underarm seams at a slight angle until I reached the bottom hem

sliced off the excess fabric

chopped to my desired length & bound the raw edges with some lovely vintage lace

and my comfy new dress was ready!

all the tutes!

Let’s Connect: 

youtubeFacebook Twitter Emailinstagram
tumblrPin google LinkedInbloglovin
8 thoughts on “the small to smaller dress refashion

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

