An Asian Inspired Thrifty Thursday

I spent the better part of my 20’s living in Tokyo…

A delightful lunch at the onsen (hot spring day spa)

working at a pretty awesome job…

Akk! That date looks positively vintage today!

I have fond (& rather offbeat) memories of my time spent in Japan and thus a great affection for all things authentically Asian.

An actual vintage score from my time in Tokyo that managed to join me on my many international moves, unfortunately the matching trousers didn’t survive, fortunately it coordinates perfectly with my tattoos!

Vintage Top (had since the 90’s) €0 – Belt (thrifted) €1.50 – Jeans (had for years) €0 – Bracelets (handmade from scraps) €0 – Felt Clogs (thrifted) €3

Total cost: €4.50

This gorgeous silk dress was an amazing thrift find – it needed a wee bit of love & attention but for only €1.50 I was more than up for re-stitching the seams & adding a few snaps!

Chinese Dress (thrifted) €1.50 – Vintage Sandals (ebay) €6

Total cost: €7.50

I snagged a fantastic second hand bargain online with this vintage embroidered linen top for only €1.00!

Vintage Top (thrifted online) €1 – Trousers (thrifted) €2 – Bracelet & Rings (thrifted & inherited) €2 – Clogs (had since Tokyo) €0

Total cost: €5

Check out the intro/outro of my Kawaii Bento Picks video tutorial from last year to see me sporting my 1990’s yukata + as a bonus hear my oddball Japanese!

Snag some thrifty inspiration (+ join up & share your love of second hand) over on my Gone Thrifting facebook page!

As always feel free to take part in the thrifty fun & vote for the upcoming themes…

Let’s Connect: 

youtubeFacebook Twitter Emailinstagram
tumblrPin google LinkedInbloglovin
8 thoughts on “An Asian Inspired Thrifty Thursday

  1. I spent a year in Japan in 1975 just a fraction before your time, infact you were not born when I was there, right? My experience developed my taste for asymmetry and Japanese cuisine. What were you doing over there Sheri? Love you on the cover of Tokyo. Your Chinese frock is slinky and pinky – love it for that price!

    • I popped into the world in ’73 so you definitely beat me to Japan 😀 I spent the bulk of my 20’s modelling throughout Asia (based out of Tokyo) – a crazy life experience that taught me loads & absolutely helped to shape who I am today. *I was a young lass of 25 on that cover 😉

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

