A quick faux leather fix

Noooooooooooooo!

My most favourite pair of shoes in the universe have finally cracked under the pressure of being so awesome:

I thrifted these shoes a whopping 12 years ago in London and for a pair of second hand faux leather loafers they have definitely done their duty!

The problem is I’m still madly in lurv with them and refuse to let them go…unfortunately the local cobbler said absolutely nothing can be done once faux leather starts to crack and peel.

Oh really? 

I put on my refashionista-thinking-cap, grabbed some gear I had around the house and fixed them up as best as I could!

Here’s what I did:

I snagged some ancient black shoe polish, a black marker, old paint brushes, a scrap of sandpaper & my miraculous shoe goo (if you’ve never used shoe goo get some immediately as it is pure awesomesauce for repairing just about any kind of footwear – nope, not reimbursed for my shoe goo shout out, I just really, really lurv it!)

First I sanded off all of the peeling bits

then filled in the cracks with permanent marker

rubbed a load of shoe polish over everything

and then painted over the areas with a generous coat of shoe goo (= sealing it with a permanent thick rubber cover)

*if you’re fortunate to have coloured shoe goo in your part of the world by all means skip the marker & polish and simply apply the correct colour to the cracked areas after sanding

as shoe goo is meant to stick, repair & seal and not necessarily be seen it doesn’t paint on quite as smooth as I would have liked so I added a few pieces of velvet ribbon to conceal the bloopy edges

Not 100% perfect but my shoes are now completely wearable & funktastic once again!

The moral of the story?

Just because a professional tells you “no” doesn’t mean your imagination can’t come up with a “yes”!

all the tutes!

Let’s Connect: 

youtubeFacebook Twitter Emailinstagram
tumblrPin google LinkedInbloglovin
6 thoughts on “A quick faux leather fix

  1. LOVE it! It’s fun to do a refashion, but even better if you can make something last that you love rather than tossing it in the garbage!! Good for your wallet, good for the earth. You have to go back to that shoe repair shop to show off!

Don't be shy...lemme know what you think...

